Friday, October 6, 2017

Review of Hot Pursuit by Julie Ann Walker

Brief summary courtesy of Sourcebooks 


He puts the hot...
Christian Watson, a former SAS officer and current BKI operator, never thought he would return to England after a terrible turn of events forced him to abandon his homeland. But now he's back on British soil where old enemies are determined to do him in. Fighting for his life is pretty much SOP for Christian. Doing it with the beautiful, bossy Emily Scott in tow is another matter entirely.

In hot pursuit.
Emily lost her coveted job at the CIA because of a colleague turned rogue, and now she has just one rule when it comes to men: they're for recreational purposes only. But when she and Christian are thrust into very close quarters while evading two mysterious men who want Christian dead, she can't help but question all her ideas about love and life lived on the edge. Battling the bad guys is hard enough, battling her feelings for Christian just might prove impossible. 
(less)

My Review: 

I received an ARC of Hot Pursuit from the Publisher and author in exchange for an honest review. This is the second book that I have read of Julie Walkers and the second that I have read in the Black Knights Inc trilogy which is a 11 book series so far. After meeting the two main characters Christian and Emily in the last book and seeing the potential romance connection that was growing between the two I was excited to learn that their story was the next one that she was going to tackle. 

Julie does a great job of mixing romance, suspense and thriller all in one book. I think she did a great job of also introducing them in the last book and then seamlessly segueing their story into this book. I also really enjoyed the chemistry that she built between them. That made the story very realistic. 

In addition to the storyline and characters I also liked the way that she described the setting of the book. It really made you feel like you were there with them in Europe. 

Can't wait to read her next book with Angel! 



Sunday, October 1, 2017

Review of Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Brief Summary Courtesy of Avon 


Meet cute...
Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.


My Review: 

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher and author in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. This is probably my twelfth or more book of Jill Shalvis that I have read and the 4th in her Heartbreaker Bay series. Just like her previous books Jill did a great job of mixing romance, drama and humor all into one book. I felt from the moment that you starting reading the first page to the very last one you are hooked.

I really enjoyed the storyline in this book as well the characters that Jill created Spencer and Colbie. The characters were like many people out in the real world. They wanted love but spent too much time concentrating on work. This really helps the reader connect to the book because who doesn’t root for the lonely workaholics to get together!

In addition to the characters and storyline like all of the other books that Jill has written I enjoyed how she incorporated light humor into the book. She does this by giving us those witty statements/comebacks that us long time readers know and love and cant wait to read once we crack open her books and new readers which I once was laugh out loud about. 

Lastly, I really enjoyed the way that she incorporated the other characters into the book. She does a great job of giving you the updates you want but not distracting you from the main characters story.
I recommend this book to readers who love contemporary romance but also love a little humor in your books. Once you start reading her books you won't be able to stop. They keep getting better and better. 

Long, Tall Cowboy Christmas Blog Tour













LONG, TALL COWBOY CHRISTMAS (Happy, Texas #2) by Carolyn Brown
On Sale: September 26, 2017 | Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD | eBook: $6.99 USD

"Genuinely sweet." – Publishers Weekly

A heartwarming holiday read from USA Today bestselling author Carolyn Brown – Nash Lamont is a man about as solitary as they come. That's exactly why ranch life in middle-of-nowhere Happy, Texas suits him. So what the heck is he doing letting a beautiful widow and her three rambunctious children temporarily move in? Before he knows it, they're stringing Christmas lights and decorating the tree... and he's having the time of his life. But after everything he's been through, Nash knows this kind of happiness doesn't last.

Kasey Dawson thought she'd never get over the death of her husband. Nash, with his strong hands and infinite patience, is stirring something she hasn't felt in a long time. Kasey knows the sexy cowboy isn't telling her everything about this past, though. And she refuses to risk heartbreak all over again. But her kids have a plan of their own: Nothing will keep them from having a real family again-even if it takes a little help from Santa himself.

Excerpt

Padding out of the room in her flannel pajama pants and an oversized faded shirt, Kasey found Nash washing dishes and no kids in sight.

“Shhh…” He put a finger over his lips. “They just now dropped off for naps. If they hear your voice, they’ll wake up.”

She frowned and pointed toward the dining room. “What is that?”

“Camping out,” he explained.

A white sheet had been draped over the dining room table, creating a tent. Underneath were pillows, books and two sleeping children.

“They’re camping and I’m watching out for bears and skunks,” he explained. “Hungry?”

“Starving. I’m always nauseated at the onset of one of the headaches and afterwards so hungry I could eat one of those bears if you catch it.” She caught a whiff of Italian food. “You cooked?”

“Of course,” he said. “Sit down right here and let me work on your neck. Lots of headaches are stress related and come out of the neck.”

She eased down into a chair and Nash went to work on her temples first, placing his hands on her cheeks so that his thumbs worked on the spots between her eyebrows and hair line. Making lazy circles and increasing the pressure every few seconds, he kept up the massage for a good five minutes before moving around to the back of the chair. He took her neck in his hands, heating her hormones to the boiling point. Rolling it around in his hands, she could feel the tension leaving her body by degrees. Then he began to massage her shoulders, digging his fingers into the knots and dissolving them. The pain in her head dissolved to half strength and her stomach grumbled.

“Now for food. Sit right there and I will bring it to the table.”

Kasey couldn’t remember the last time a man had waited on her.  “God, this is amazing,” she said after taking a bite of the spaghetti he put in front of her. “Did you make the sauce from scratch?”

He nodded. “Just like my cousin Amanda taught me. She married an Italian, and she’s an amazing cook. After eating her marinara, that stuff you buy in a jar at the grocery store is pretty bland.”

“You cook and watch kids, run a ranch—what can you not do?” Kasey asked.

“I’m not real good at talkin’ to most people,” he said.

“That’s not what I see.” She almost groaned when she bit into a slab of garlic bread. 

“Oh yeah? And what do you see?”

“I see a man who’s got some demons, but you talk to me just fine,” she told him between bites.

“Well, you’re special,” he replied softly.

Buy The Book
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2gCkRYq
Books-A-Million: http://bit.ly/2hm4Civ

THE HAPPY, TEXAS SERIES











TOUGHEST COWBOY IN TEXAS, #1
LONG, TALL COWBOY CHRISTMAS, #2
Series Page on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2oEqffF

ABOUT THE AUTHOR













Carolyn Brown is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author and RITA® Finalist who has sold more than 3 million books. She presently writes both women's fiction and cowboy romance. She has also written historical single title, historical series, contemporary single title, and contemporary series. She lives in southern Oklahoma with her husband, a former English teacher, who is not allowed to read her books until they are published. They have three children and enough grandchildren to keep them young. For a complete listing of her books (series in order) check out her website at CarolynLBrown.com.

Author Information
Author Website: http://bit.ly/1XV4oyS

GIVEAWAY
https://app.viralsweep.com/view_widget/5d9ec3-24708

Monday, September 25, 2017

The Winter Wedding Plan Release Week Blitz












ABOUT THE BOOK



















Title: THE WINTER WEDDING PLAN
Author: Olivia Miles
Series: Misty Point, #2
On Sale: September 26, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Trade Paperback: $14.99 USD
eBook$6.99 USD

All she wants for Christmas is a second chance . . . 

Charlotte Daniels has made her share of mistakes, but now that she's a single mom, she vows to do better--and that starts with a new career. Working at her sister's event-planning company is just the fresh start she needs.

Kate Daniels has finally forgiven Charlotte for her betrayal, but forgetting it is harder. But as the holidays approach and Kate has her own wedding to plan, she has no choice but to turn to Charlotte for help to throw a high-profile client the holiday party of the season.

Charlotte leaps at the chance to redeem herself . . . until this irresistible client asks her to pretend to be his fiancée for the party. She knows their charade won't come without consequences--not just for her fresh start with Kate, but also for her own daughter.

As Kate's wedding draws near and Charlotte's fake romance starts to feel more and more real, will she fall back into the mistakes of her past, or finally prove herself to Kate once and for all?

In the vein of New York Times bestselling authors Susan Mallery, Robyn Carr, and Elin Hilderbrand, comes the second in a women's fiction series about the complicated ties of sisterhood that bind us together and sometimes tear us apart.

BUY THE BOOK HERE

THE MISTY POINT SERIES















ONE WEEK TO THE WEDDING, #1
THE WINTER WEDDING PLAN, #2


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Olivia Miles writes women's fiction and contemporary romance. A city girl with a fondness for small town charm, Olivia enjoys highlighting both ways of life in her stories. She lives just outside Chicago with her husband, young daughter, and two ridiculously pampered pups.

FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE


GIVEAWAY


Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Review of Hard Justice by April Hunt

Brief Summary:

Charlotte Sparks or as her friends/co-workers like to call her "Charlie" has worked hard to leave her childhood behind her in the past and move on to become the first female operative with Alpha Security team. However, the past didn't stay gone for long when she is enlisted by the government to help find woman who are disappearing in her old hometown and they ultimately fear are on the verge of being human trafficked.

With very little hesitation she agrees to go back and help find the missing women even thought it will cause her to confront her past family and friends she left behind.  But she won't be doing this assignment alone. Much to her initial dismay her hot co-worker and ex-seal commander, Vince Franklin, is sent with her for support and backup. Will she be able to find the missing women before its too late? Can she keep Vince at arms length or will she find that maybe's there more to what meets the eye? 

My Review: 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and netgalley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. This is the first book of April Hunts that I have ever read. And to be perfectly honest I read it for two reasons, 1) I really liked the summary on the back cover being that it seemed to involve mystery, action and romance and 2) the cover model. But back to my thoughts on the book... I thought that April did a great job of developing the characters in the beginning of the book and as you read she continued to give you snip its from their past to truly understand where they came from and the rational for their decisions.

When looking at the writing style that she used I thought she did a great job of having the point of views of the male and female characters. It really gave you insight to what the characters were thinking on each side of the scenes, rather than just one characters thoughts.

I think by far my favorite part of the book is really how she had a great mix of romance, mystery, action and humor all wrapped into one book. I as a reader liked to be able to laugh, cry and get mad at certain parts of a book because it keeps you on the edge of your seat well reading and makes you wanting to know more.

All in all this was a fantastic first book to read of Aprils and can't wait to read more of hers. I don't think that you need to read others in the series to understand this book but it might be helpful when she mentions other characters. 

Thursday, September 7, 2017

LONG, TALL COWBOY CHRISTMAS by Carolyn Brown Teaser Excerpt Blitz











LONG, TALL COBWOY CHRISTMAS by Carolyn Brown (September 26, 2017; Forever Mass Market; $7.99; Happy, Texas Series Book 2)

A heartwarming holiday read from USA Today bestselling author Carolyn Brown

Nash Lamont is a man about as solitary as they come. That's exactly why ranch life in middle-of-nowhere Happy, Texas suits him. So what the heck is he doing letting a beautiful widow and her three rambunctious children temporarily move in? Before he knows it, they're stringing Christmas lights and decorating the tree... and he's having the time of his life. But after everything he's been through, Nash knows this kind of happiness doesn't last.

Kasey Dawson thought she'd never get over the death of her husband. Nash, with his strong hands and infinite patience, is stirring something she hasn't felt in a long time. Kasey knows the sexy cowboy isn't telling her everything about this past, though. And she refuses to risk heartbreak all over again. But her kids have a plan of their own: Nothing will keep them from having a real family again-even if it takes a little help from Santa himself.


"Genuinely sweet." --Publishers Weekly

Excerpt:
Padding out of the room in her flannel pajama pants and an oversized faded shirt, Kasey found Nash washing dishes and no kids in sight.
“Shhh…” He put a finger over his lips. “They just now dropped off for naps. If they hear your voice, they’ll wake up.”
She frowned and pointed toward the dining room. “What is that?”
“Camping out,” he explained.
A white sheet had been draped over the dining room table, creating a tent. Underneath were pillows, books and two sleeping children.
“They’re camping and I’m watching out for bears and skunks,” he explained. “Hungry?”
“Starving. I’m always nauseated at the onset of one of the headaches and afterwards so hungry I could eat one of those bears if you catch it.” She caught a whiff of Italian food. “You cooked?”
“Of course,” he said. “Sit down right here and let me work on your neck. Lots of headaches are stress related and come out of the neck.”
She eased down into a chair and Nash went to work on her temples first, placing his hands on her cheeks so that his thumbs worked on the spots between her eyebrows and hair line. Making lazy circles and increasing the pressure every few seconds, he kept up the massage for a good five minutes before moving around to the back of the chair. He took her neck in his hands, heating her hormones to the boiling point. Rolling it around in his hands, she could feel the tension leaving her body by degrees. Then he began to massage her shoulders, digging his fingers into the knots and dissolving them. The pain in her head dissolved to half strength and her stomach grumbled.
“Now for food. Sit right there and I will bring it to the table.”
Kasey couldn’t remember the last time a man had waited on her.  “God, this is amazing,” she said after taking a bite of the spaghetti he put in front of her. “Did you make the sauce from scratch?”
He nodded. “Just like my cousin Amanda taught me. She married an Italian, and she’s an amazing cook. After eating her marinara, that stuff you buy in a jar at the grocery store is pretty bland.”
 “You cook and watch kids, run a ranch—what can you not do?” Kasey asked.
“I’m not real good at talkin’ to most people,” he said.
“That’s not what I see.” She almost groaned when she bit into a slab of garlic bread.

“Oh yeah? And what do you see?”
“I see a man who’s got some demons, but you talk to me just fine,” she told him between bites.
“Well, you’re special,” he replied softly.

Buy the Book!













Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2gCkRYq

About the Author














Carolyn Brown is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author and RITA® Finalist who has sold more than 3 million books. She presently writes both women's fiction and cowboy romance. She has also written historical single title, historical series, contemporary single title, and contemporary series. She lives in southern Oklahoma with her husband, a former English teacher, who is not allowed to read her books until they are published. They have three children and enough grandchildren to keep them young. For a complete listing of her books (series in order) check out her website at CarolynLBrown.com.

Social Media Links












Add Long, Tall Cowboy Christmas to your shelf on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2wBQz19
Follow Carolyn Brown on BookBub: http://bit.ly/2xLusnN
Follow Carolyn Brown on Amazon: http://amzn.to/2gDzj2y